Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

After several times feeding myself with delicious ramen bowls of Hakata Ippudo, I finally tried Hokkaido Ramen Santouka. They are both located in Pavilion KL, you can easily spot Santouka in the line of delicious Japanese restaurants in Tokyo Street Level. 6 Pavilion KL. It was crowded when we got there, but it’s not as crowded as Ippudo which has long waiting line though. We were seated and quickly picked our orders. My husband is addicted to everything about Japan. He was so happy when he saw naruto in his ramen bowl, lol. He ordered Tokusen Toroniku Shio Ramen (RM 36) and I picked the classic Shio Ramen (RM 25) for myself. I was tempted to order their Kara-Miso Ramen but I think this sore throat-flu-tonsillitis would not even survive the whole bowl.

Tokusen Toroniku Shio Ramen

This is listed in their recommended menu. I am so glad that I have such loving husband who’s willing to share every little bite, so I got to try this one as well, lol.

Santouka’s signature soup, as people say. I enjoyed every single of it, slurped it from my spoon, but few minutes after when I felt full already, I couldn’t even finish the whole bowl. The taste is very strong, it is delicious indeed. The noodles though was so soft and chewy, which blends so good with the signature soup itself.

What I like the most is these tasty pork cheeks!

The topping for this Tokusen Toroniku comes in separate plate. You better dip it for few seconds in your ramen bowl before eating it. The pork cheeks were so gooood. I think it was deeply marinated so that it tasted so strong yet chewy and soft in your mouth. Then it crossed my mind, how could something that’s so vulnerably thin, taste so good?

Santouka Shio Ramen

The Shio (salt) Ramen was good. I like the Japanese plum so much, especially when I combined it with the soup. The chasiu slices on top of it were life-changing. It’s the melt-in-your mouth texture that made me fall in love with it. For the noodles, same thing goes with Tokusen Toroniku, I still prefer Hakata Ippudo’s noodles and no offense, IMHO their (Hakata Ippudo) signature soup is really mindblowing. My husband agrees with me, he couldn’t even finish the whole bowl, he prefers Hakata Ippudo ‘s Shiromaru Motoaji, their classic Hakata style ramen. I agree with the fact that Ippudo’s spicy Karaka-men is too oily sometimes (but haven’t gotten a chance to try Santouka’s Kara-Miso Ramen though) but tongue doesn’t lie, lol. Maybe when I get a chance to try Santouka’s Kara-Miso ramen (which so many people have been talking about how delicious it is) I might change my mind! 🙂

Read my experience on Hakata Ippudo KL here: (https://nitalovestoeat.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/hakata-ippudo)

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka
Lot 6.24.03, Level 6, Tokyo Street
Pavilion KL,
168 Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-2143 8878

One thought on “Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

Leave a Reply

